Toilet Terrors

As a child, I told my younger sister crocodiles in the toilet were going to eat her bum when she did her business. This developed into a kind of toilet trauma and I was forced to accompany her to the bathroom until she was around seven.

It turns out that toilet terrors are fairly common in Japan, and I suspect in many households around the world. A number of newer urban legends and ghost stories revolve around the toilet, such as Hanako and red paper/blue paper. However, there are even older toilet terrors stretching back beyond the Edo Period. For my first few posts, I’ve decided to investigate these toilet-terrorizing yokai.

Or, as my husband put it, “So you’re still bullying your sister.”

Kainade

Ganbari Nyudo

Red paper or blue paper?

Red Hanten

Akaname

The Red Cape

Hanako

Kashima-san

Leave a Reply

